Much to do about writing · Personal

Very first blog post.

After much deliberation, I’ve finally decided to start blogging. I made a blog last year but never used it because a) I am technologically inept and b) I’m a pen-to-paper kind of girl. But as much as I love the romanticism and intimacy of writing on paper I also love the idea of sharing thoughts and bridging the gap that separates us all. I’m not an avid blog follower, mainly because I’ve been a recluse; burying my head in books and writing in journals but I decided it was time to venture out and try it.

I’ll admit that the main reason for starting this blog was because of family and friends overseas. After living abroad for so long and not being able to speak to every aunt, uncle, cousin and overtly inquisitive neighbor I felt that after months of not being in contact with them and having to constantly answer and ask, “how have you been?” from time to time, that this was a way for all of them to get a first hand account on what’s going on in my life.

Now, before anyone asks about the name of this blog, I feel I need to share a little anecdote that might explain it. When I was a little girl I was invited to a birthday party where we all had to dress up as a character starting with a ‘B’. I had a knitted outfit which was a myriad of deep purples and soft lilacs which I loved and I dubbed it my ‘Bohemian outfit’. I loved how long the skirt was, it made me feel like a girl when I was constantly being reprimanded for not being lady-like enough. Of course when I got to the party it was evident, by their costumes, what everyone else was dressed up as such as Buzz Lightyear or a bee. No one knew what I was and when I told them, their response was, “isn’t that, like, a hobo?” So there I was in one of my favorite outfits feeling completely insecure because everyone thought I had come to the party dressed as a hobo. Needless to say I got over it quite quickly but my love for the word bohemian stuck, especially the meaning :  “a person, as an artist or writer, who lives and acts free of regard for conventional rules and practices.” I guess I just admire words and ideas and certain terms, like Bohemianism which I find romantic and mysterious.

Not that I’m a bohemian in any way.  I don’t live an unconventional lifestyle writing on napkins that I find in garbage cans or singing for money on the street.

In an alternate universe though, definitely.

3 thoughts on “Very first blog post.

Leave a Reply

