Personal

Daily Prompt: My favourite

Image

I didn’t have access to the Internet for a while so this post is overdue. I’ve been part of the blogosphere for a few months now and although I always see Daily Prompts, I’ve never written a post on any of ‘em. Until now. So here it is:

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.

Image

2 years and 11 months. That’s the most time I’ve spent apart from my favourite person. 2 years and 11 months without seeing each other at all. Not even on Skype.

People would ask me, “How can you be apart for so long? How does it work?” and my answer would always be the same, “Love.”

See, the person I’d spent so much time away from was my then high school sweetheart and now husband. There were people who doubted we’d eventually be together, people who thought it was silly, but our relationship didn’t consist of other people. I always wondered why others have opinions on things that don’t concern them.  But I guess I let it slide because I felt as though some sweet magic let me in on its secrets of love.

Hussam and I met in a country that neither of us belonged to and we knew that eventually we’d leave that place, to study elsewhere and be apart for a while. And when that day came, it wasn’t unbearably sad or dramatic. We never questioned whether we would be together, we just knew. It’s as simple as two people loving each other and wanting to be together. Maybe it’s a cheesy notion to think that your soul can connect with another’s in some inexplicable way, that you’re somehow destined to be together and no obstacle could discourage that outcome, but there isn’t any other way to explain it.

I think this post comes at a fitting time because last year today was the first time I saw my husband after almost 3 years. After the movie-moment airport scene where I hugged him and got twirled in the air while we kissed, I was surprised by the lack of shock. It felt as though we’d seen each other every day prior to that day at the airport. There was no awkward moment where we each shuffle our feet and look at the ground as I shyly tuck strands of hair behind my ear. There was no, “You look so different since the last time I saw you.” There was just immense happiness and love, where everything around us seemed to move in fast-motion and anything that anyone said was muted because all we saw and heard was each other.

Our wedding was the day after he arrived in Cape Town and it’s by far one of the best days of my life. That and yesterday when I beat him in a game of Scrabble by using words like ‘Qi’ and ‘Vug’. [OK, that was after I lost three games in a row so of course I was happy when I finally won.]

I think it’s pretty obvious by the copious amount of corniness in this post that I’m really happy and in love with my favourite person. I’m not going to apologize if this post made your gag reflexes work overtime, I’m just going to wish everyone happiness because when you’re truly happy you wish everyone else happiness too.

Have a great week, everyone 🙂

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: My favourite

  1. There’s nothing cheesy about the notion of two souls who truly connect. As I have told my wife, there was a place in my heart reserved for her long before we met. That’s why, when we did, it recognized her instantly. It’s a beautiful and all too often rare thing to find that kind of love — and it’s one you have to be willing to recognize when it happens.

  2. I was a witness on that day when you got married and I could see the two of you were there literally,but mentally you guys were out of the door already.Hee hee.

Leave a Reply

