Photo-Illustrated Questions

Now and Then.

Image

I came across Photo illustrated questions on Amba’s blog which you should check out here.

I liked the idea and decided to post every now and then based on one of the photos. If any of you run out of blogging ideas or just want to blog about something a little different, you should check out the website 🙂

What can you do today that you were not capable of a year ago?

Cooking. I’ve said that many times before and anyone who’s read this blog from the beginning will know that cooking was always a struggle for me.

I don’t know why I was horrible at cooking, but back then I decided that I would never cook again and that I would get my own cook if I had to or else I’d starve or just live off peanut-butter sandwiches.

I remember wanting to make an omelette one morning. I cracked an egg in the pan and thought, why does this look so wrong? Then I realised that what I was making was a fried egg. Not an omelette. Yes, I was that bad.

I didn’t know how to boil rice. I didn’t know what chicken stock or tomato puree was. I didn’t know what the term braise meant. Cooking instructions were intimidating, I never understood them. I felt stupid reading it while pulling my hair out in frustration going, “What does this mean?!” as if it held all the answers to the Universe.

But that was then and this is now. I’ve been cooking for the past few months and  I like it. It’s fun. I guess I have Hussam to thank for my new-found hobby, if it weren’t for his support I wouldn’t have gained confidence in the kitchen. He made it look so easy. And now I know that, yeah, it really is.

I guess I was too hard on myself and lacked patience. Patience was never one of my strong suits. Whenever I wanted to do something I wanted to do it right away and it had to be done right or else I felt it was a waste of time. Fortunately, I’ve learnt to be patient and with that learnt to do many things I never thought I could.

3 thoughts on “Now and Then.

Leave a Reply

