Personal

Daily Prompt: All about me

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

I posted a blog name back-story in my very first post. I’ll admit that I thought about a name for quite a while, all my options had something to do with ‘writer’ but, the rest of the name was confusing because of the words I used. Side note: I love long, unusual descriptive words.

But I found that a long, unusual descriptive word wouldn’t work. So, why LeBohemianWriter?  Here’s a snippet of my first blog post that explains it:
“When I was a little girl I was invited to a birthday party where we all had to dress up as a character starting with a ‘B’. I had a knitted outfit which was a myriad of deep purples and soft lilacs which I loved and I dubbed it my ‘Bohemian outfit’. I loved how long the skirt was, it made me feel like a girl when I was constantly being reprimanded for not being lady-like enough. Of course when I got to the party it was evident, by their costumes, what everyone else was dressed up as such as Buzz Lightyear or a bee. No one knew what I was and when I told them, their response was, “ isn’t that, like, a hobo?” So there I was in one of my favorite outfits feeling completely insecure because everyone thought I had come to the party dressed as a hobo. Needless to say I got over it quite quickly but my love for the word bohemian stuck, especially the meaning :  “a person, as an artist or writer, who lives and acts free of regard for conventional rules and practices.” I guess I just admire words and ideas and certain terms, like Bohemianism which I find romantic and mysterious.”
You can read the full post here.
Another side note: I love Bohemian style dresses 😉
10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: All about me

  1. I believe you just got a perfect blog name, romantic, mysterious and also remains in some solitude: where the words come to mind without restriction… I just like it a lot…Thanks for sharing the party episode, it touch me

Leave a Reply

