Photo-Illustrated Questions

Winds of Change

Image

Change.

That’s what’s been on my mind. So much has happened since last year and it looks like this year will be even more eventful.

Last year I moved to another country and in just a few months I’ll be moving to yet another country. I’m looking forward to new experiences, adventures and opportunities. I’ve always liked change and a friend of mine would tell me that it’s because I’m a Gemini that I can never stay in one place for too long or focus solely on one thing.

I’ve always liked having a journal because I’d wonder what the pages would be filled with. Whether I’d have melancholic or euphoric experiences and which would outweigh the other. So with the upcoming change of scenery I can’t help but wonder what’s in store for me this year.

I know we can’t be happy all the time, content sure, but not happy. We all face difficulty and sorrow and, perhaps, the only way to avoid that would be to avoid people. There would be no deaths to mourn, no break-ups, no worrying whether the people you care about are healthy and happy because there would be no one to think of. But then there’d be no inside jokes, unless you have them with yourself, no conversations and laughter over cups of tea, no real memories worth remembering.

With change comes moving forward and letting go. In the past year I’ve had to break ties with people whom I was inseparable with when I was younger. At the time I didn’t know that I’d be moving to another continent again. Now I see letting go of the proverbial bad apples as making space for the people I’ll meet in the future.

Change can be unnerving. It can leave you feeling as though you’re tumbling in a pitch black abyss. There’s no holding onto the past as a crutch and there’s no knowing what lies ahead. But sometimes that’s exactly what we need.

Here’s to the unknown.

2 thoughts on “Winds of Change

Leave a Reply

