Miscellaneous photos. · Personal · Uncategorized

Weekly photo challenge: From Above; we’re all guardians.

Bella
Bella

On our 7th anniversary, 2 days ago,  Hussam and I  adopted  this gorgeous puppy. For those who follow this blog and have seen previous posts of mine, you’ll know that a puppy of ours passed away not too long ago.

After our puppy Palestina passed away, we weren’t going to adopt for a while. But after a few days of thinking about it we decided that it was no reason to close our homes or our hearts to another animal in need.

So, say hello to Bella. She was up for adoption for about two months. I don’t know why no one wanted her, but it’s probably because of the general view on dogs in the Middle East. And she’s not white. And she’s a ‘common’ breed here in Jordan. The list goes on.

She’s been to four foster homes and would have been taken to a shelter. It’s sad that an animal that has so much love to give is so easily shunted in some parts of the world. There are misconceptions that a dog is haraam (prohibited in Islam) but as a Muslim I believe that all living creatures should be treated with kindness and love. These are just two websites that speak of kindness towards animals in Islam: Animal welfare & Prophet Muhammad’s kindness to animals.

A few days ago while Hussam and I were watching National Geographic, he said, “If animals were like humans we’d all be dead.” Human beings, with our capacity to show either kindness or cruelty tend to be more cruel than kind. But there are those rare few people whom you meet that help restore faith in humanity, like the people we adopted Bella from.

For anyone who’d like to see some of the dogs for adoption in Jordan, visit Canaan Rescue Jordan’s Facebook page which is where we found out about Bella.Most of the dogs are rescues that have been abandoned and beaten and need homes filled with love.

So, in reference to the photo and the caption, we’re all guardians. We’re able to protect, nurture and love and that’s exactly what we should do.

& have an awesome Sunday, everyone 😉

26 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: From Above; we’re all guardians.

  1. I have never read such a touching blog. I personally love animals more than humans because their love is unconditional. I really appreciate your kindness and compassion towards animals like Bella. May God bless you.

    1. I agree, I don’t see how anyone could hate or want to hurt any animal. And it happens all over the world. It’s sad and a disgrace. Thanks for reading and for your kind words
      🙂

  2. What a wonderful story and how kind of you to welcome her into your home. She certainly seems comfortable! We are contemplating a puppy right now – it is a big commitment, but one that brings so much love into your life – we are waiting so we can do it right (maybe move to a place with more space, etc), but I often wonder if we should just dive in for the joy it will bring… Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

    1. It is a commitment, but you won’t regret it. They definitely bring a lot of joy. Last night we were playing fetch with her, and it’s fun to watch, they’re such funny creatures.
      If you’re able to, you definitely should. Out of all the pets I’ve had dogs are more like babies though. Luckily my husband had dogs before, he’s very patient and knows how to train them.

      They’re very affectionate and smart. There’s really nothing negative that I can say. And if there are ill-behaved dogs it’s usually because the owner doesn’t know how to train them etc. Dogs usually mirror your behaviour.

      I’d really like to have a Golden Retriever someday 🙂 and a Japanese Spitz .

      Have you had dogs before?

      1. I grew up with Labradors and Shepards… My boyfriend really wants a Weimaraner – all very active, big dogs (hence wanting space before we jump in). There is nothing like the unconditional love of a dog – it is like they can read your mind and know when you need a cuddle 🙂 But, as you say, they take a lot of training and discipline – neither of which I am especially good at providing. So, in the end it is his decision when we get one, as he will be the one in charge. I’m just waiting patiently for all those puppy kisses 🙂

  3. Good for you. We’ve fostered rescue dogs and it’s very rewarding. If the place we’re renting allowed dogs, one of them would have been our, but they have forever homes and that’s wonderful.

    janet

    1. My husband and I were going to foster, but we get attached easily so we opted to adopt. Luckily we have more than enough space and a big garden so that they don’t feel confined. Plus, Bella’s had so many foster homes it would be unfair to foster her and then give her away. Again.

      It’s great that you get to foster, instead of the dogs being taken to shelters where they aren’t really cared for.

  4. I had three ‘rescue’ dogs from Cyprus; brought them to UK where they had ‘to do’ six months quarantine way back in 1997.Two were with me for fifteen years.

    May you and your husband be blessed for loving God’s more unfortunate creatures.

    1. Wow, 15 years! You must have had a really special bond with them. Our previous puppy died at such a young age, and we only had her for a week. We grew so attached to her in such a short time, I can’t even imagine the attachment that you must have had.

      & thank you, that’s very kind of you 🙂

  5. Oh I loved this post! I loved it for the message. Loving dogs and having them in our home has enriched our family so much that I simply cannot imagine life without a four-legged friend. Our dogs came from shelters too. How pure love, such as a dog can be abandoned is beyond my ability to understand. I also love the message of universal love. It is a message that cannot be spoken and lived enough. It is timeless. Congratulations on your family’s new addition! 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂
      When we went to the vet yesterday for Bella’s checkup, they said to us, “You can’t stop adopting can you?” haha, but after the first dog I had and the attachment I had to her I can’t imagine not taking care of one.
      Did you grow up with dogs or is it something relatively new?

      1. If we could, and if I were a vet, I would buy acres of land and adopt as many dogs as the land would allow! Seriously. Yes, I grew up with one dog, loved her much. I can still remember sitting on the kitchen floor and sharing a popsicle with her. Maybe that’s gross, but I loved her and sharing just seemed natural. I hope I am not sounding like I am pushing a post, because I’m trying not to, but this is what I wrote about my first dog I picked out as an adult. She died almost 2 years ago and I had to write a tribute to the dog I loved and think about to this day. http://wp.me/p1PxcV-wR There is just a special bond between a dog and their human! 🙂

      2. That’s what my husband and I want to do eventually 🙂 I don’t think anything would make me happier at this point. There are so many animals looking for homes, mainly dogs, so it would be great to do that. Hopefully soon 😉

        That’s a sweet memory &I’ll be sure to read your post now. Thanks for sharing it with me 🙂

    1. Same here 🙂
      There are people who see rescue dogs as ‘less’ than other dogs because they’re usually from the street. Very frustrating and such a shame that their views are like that.

Leave a Reply

