Personal

To blog or not to blog.

blogcartoon

When I started this blog I didn’t know anything about blogging and the blogging community.

I didn’t think anyone would read these posts other than my family and friends overseas; they were the audience in mind when I started this blog. I wanted them to feel close to me and see what my life is like now, through pictures and posts, to bridge the immense distance between us.

Initially, I didn’t want to post anything too personal because I’m a private person. But blogging became somewhat therapeutic. I wrote about closure, friendship, coping with OCD and little things such as my skinny frame.

All these posts are a part of me. They’re not superficial snippets of a glamorous life. But recently I’ve been asked why I don’t post Lookposts and my everyday beauty routine. That by posting that kind of content I’ll have a wider audience.

This is what this blog is not about.
This is what this blog is not about.

This isn’t a fashion or beauty blog, but I understand that they are amongst the most popular blogs out there, if only for the pretty pictures. I have nothing against them but, I’m not a fashion or beauty blogger. In fact, I don’t know the first thing about either of those things.

Recently I’ve seen many new blogs and they’re all very similar. By that I mean that everyone nowadays wants to be a fashion blogger and wants to be popular and have a fan base. As much as I love my blog, it isn’t to gain popularity; it isn’t my life and I don’t intend for it to be.

Blogging for popularity reminds me of Facebook likes, which is something I wanted to post about before. I know people who accept friend requests from strangers just to get likes on their pictures. In my opinion Facebook logic has graduated to this: The more friends you have on Facebook, the more popular you are. The more likes you have on your pictures, the more popular you are. The less clothes you’re wearing The more controversial and provocative the picture, the more likes it’s going to get.

Life isn’t a popularity contest, people. Social networking sites and blogging shouldn’t be an indication of your worth. Because it isn’t.

“Oh em gee, now that I’m a blogger I’m soooo popular.”

Not too long ago I thought about whether or not I want to continue blogging, because of those very reasons. But one of the reasons I decided to keep this blog is because I’d like my kids to see what I was like before I was their mother.

My thoughts, experiences, likes and dislikes are on this blog. Some of my political views to my current favourite songs are on this blog. My views on life are written down here.

It’s a footprint etched on the Internet. I’d like to think that I don’t have an ugly, tainted view of the world. I’d also like to think that I don’t pander to superficiality and a lifestyle where acquiring stuff equals happiness.

Because I wouldn’t want my kids to see the world that way. Despite all the ugliness, I want them to see how beautiful and precious life can be and I want them to be humble and not fall prey to believing that the more you have, the happier you are.

Maybe thinking that way is over-thinking. I’m only 22 years old.I don’t even have children.

But this is who I am.

And for now, that’s why I blog.

x x x

16 thoughts on “To blog or not to blog.

  1. I think every blogger at some stage sit at a crossroad Tasneem. Me myself have been there and I think the reason we still do it is to preserve some of it as a memory, and also to show people when we are older what we were all about.

  2. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I’ve enjoyed reading through some of your posts too.

    What you have to say is relevant for any person doing the writing. Blogging is, for me, therapeutic. I can get all those little niggles off my chest without hurting anyone – well, only those who feel my barbs are directed at them.

    It’s good to feel I can be honest with myself, and I love the thought that what I’m writing is being read by some one I’ve neither seen nor met, except through the airways of space. There’s something magical about that – like being on a magic carpet. Let’s enjoy the ride.

    1. I agree 🙂 And I’ve ‘met’ some awesome people through blogging. It’s been great, and it was something I didn’t expect.

      I suppose with some posts it hits close to home with some people and they feel as though it’s directed at them somehow, but fortunately I haven’t ran into any of those people here.

      I like that there are so many different blogs but they’re all outlets for the blogger. They’re interesting 🙂

      xx

  3. Really enjoyed your post Tasneem. I totally agree!
    So few people these days, it seems, are as intent upon staying true to themselves.
    The whole social networking thing is a complete farce. There is nothing “social” about facebook. It’s a love affair people are having with themselves.
    I actually wrote a silly little song about facebook just the other day touching on this subject.
    Stay being the person that you are – you will ultimately have a much richer life for it. 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂

      A love affair with themselves :p funny, but true. I’ve thought so many times of just deactivating my account, but I can’t. I keep in touch with my family that way. So I just made everything extremely private and hopefully no one will bother me :p

      Where is the song? Is that on your blog too? The videos and songs you make are so funny. I’d like to hear it 🙂

      1. I have thought about removing myself from facebook too. I know what you mean!
        I’ll find the song and maybe post it tomorrow….It’s only very rough, Just me mucking around basically 🙂

  4. Great post! 🙂

    I have also come to think about this issue quite a lot in recent weeks. Why was I blogging? When I had the thought “what would get people want to read me?”, I knew that a problem is starting to develop. The reason I started blogging was to improve my writing skills and use the space for ranting without caring what other people thought. My blogging isn’t about pleasing the masses, my blogging was for me. And if it happened to please a few people along the way, then whoopee!

    Every blogger wants to be read, and feel like their readers care about what they’re writing. It’s not a crime to want to be read. However, if you’re willing to sell your soul or self to be a popular blogger, then you’ve lost the plot. I’d like to be read, but with my readership stats I can forget about ever being popular. And it doesn’t bother me (much) anymore like it used to.

    Facebook, on the other hand, is a monster. A kind of monster that is both good and bad, but mostly bad. Good in the sense that it connects people, and bad in that it has the potential to ruin lives. I’m not even on Facebook as much as I used to be. It’s just not important to me anymore. I only use Facebook to remind me about birthdays.

    That being said, I hope you continue blogging! 🙂 I can also see why people have suggested that you start a beauty blog. You’re very beautiful! But stay true to yourself! I hope to read more from you for a long time.

    1. Thanks 🙂
      I think it depends on why you started blogging. It’s OK if your reasons behind it change, but just not to an extent where you aren’t being yourself and just want to do like everyone else does. But blogging is different for everyone.

      I actually know bloggers who don’t want people to read their blogs. It’s all private. They just like the outlet but that’s about it.

      I dislike Facebook, but I keep it to keep it touch with family and friends. Other than that though I make lots of things private on there, because it’s so easy for people to know all these things about you…it’s creepy.

      It’s great that you want to improve your writing skills, especially by blogging because you get feedback from those who read what you write. Instead of just writing in a notebook and not letting anyone read it.

      Thanks for reading and for such sweet compliments 🙂 I hope you continue blogging too.

  5. And blog you should. The number of facebook friends, the number of likes, the number of follwers are meaningless and positively impact your life in absolutely no real way Although I appreciate followers, (those that contribute to my blog by participating, that is) i don’t make public the number of followers on my blog. My blog is not a popularity contest and isn’t meant to be. What I think matters are those you connect with while blogging. Those that take the moment to tell you, “Hey, I like what you did with this post.” Now that is something that has meaning and as corny as this sounds, that’s something that counts in my heart and makes blogging worthwhile. As I have said to you before, you have wisdom beyond your 22 years and I enjoy reading your posts and hearing the thoughts of a young person who is miles ahead of where I was at 22!!! Keep writing and I will keep reading and together we can make our little bit of the internet, of the blogging world a pleasant place to spend a little time! 🙂

    1. You always have the kindest comments! 🙂
      I absolutely agree, I like those that contribute because I know there are those who only ‘like’ or ‘follow’ in order for you to go to their blog, and that’s it. But the ones who actually talk to you and read what you write and give feedback…that’s awesome.

      Haha I hope I don’t sound too old for a 22 year old :p I don’t feel wise at all, just kind of fumbling around trying to make sense of everything.

      Hugs xxx

  6. Great post Tasneem! The whole Facebook/Twitter/Instagram phenomenon of superficiality is insane. Who cares how many likes you get? I don’t get many on fb and don’t care. My life is not online. I don’t do or say things for followers. I blog about my industry and share my work but the amount of friends on fb doesn’t make me feel important. The important people are the ones I actually speak to, the ones who I see in my everyday, the ones who are truly there. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Thanks Suaad 🙂
      I have very few FB friends and my photos are private on Instagram. The superficiality of it all is annoying.For example the whole ‘likes for likes’ or ‘if you follow me I’ll follow you.’ And images of women whose cleavage is showing or whatnot has the most likes. It’s not surprising that young girls are doing these things, but it’s sad.

      I think generally nowadays whatever topic is popular in the blogging world it becomes the go-to topic for newbie bloggers, because they want recognition and forget about originality, as cliche as that sounds.

      My life isn’t online either but people tend to think it is, which is why I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook.

      I agree with what you’ve said, and I admire your work ,you’ve a very talented makeup artist, which is something I’ve said before 🙂 but I also admire that you haven’t jumped on the superficiality bandwagon when it comes to that topic.
      x

      1. Your welcome sweetie 🙂 I agree, those young girls posing suggestively online makes me really sad. I wish I could tell them that there worth is not in their bodies but in their minds and how they value themselves as people. We were all young once (well, we’re still young, lol) and we’ve all done things that we regret so it’s very difficult to say don’t do this and don’t do that but we should rather lead by example and encourage young women to honour themselves more. If I look back on my teen years there’s TONS of stuff I wish I could change but alhamdulillah, I know better now 🙂

        I barely update my fb now, it’s mostly my page because of work. I’ve stopped sharing pictures and such. I don’t really see the need but the privacy settings could work in someone’s favour if you’re wishing to only share with family and close friends and such 🙂

        Shukran for being supportive of my work, I really appreciate it. I’ve never seen myself as running with the mainstream and have always just done my own thing (I still do, lol) and alhamdulillah, I’m glad that it’s made me a bit different to other blogs. To be honest, I wouldn’t even know what’s popular to blog about in the beauty sense, haha. I write what I like and what interests me and what I think others would like to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

