Miscellaneous photos. · Personal

Creative Clutter.

& this is only half of what my living room looks like right now.

When I get creative, I’m messy. I can’t work with everything ordered and neat. Ever since I was a child, whether it was random bouts of inspiration or homework, the above picture is pretty much what my room looked like.

My mom hated it of course, she didn’t see how I could get any work done or find anything amidst the chaos that I loved. She would always say that it looked like a bomb went off in my room.

Apart from writing, which will forever be my first love, I’ve always loved creating things out of nothing. I love scrap-booking and making my own journal covers and, well, making whatever comes to mind.

I hate throwing things away, even if it’s a random ribbon that holds no sentimental value, I find myself thinking, I could use this for something. 

I don’t have a creative process, there are no steps. I think by having a process it would be a somewhat ordered routine.

And that, to me, just takes the fun out of everything.

To any creative junkies out there, can you relate to the image above or are you less into creative clutter and more into ordered creativity?

10 thoughts on “Creative Clutter.

  1. I can definitely relate! I used to scrapbook a lot. I also keep every little thing…even little scraps of paper thinking I could use it for something someday. My room also ends up looking like that by the time i’m done.

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one!
      I mean, I’m not a compulsive hoarder but sometimes others don’t see what I see in keeping certain things.
      Do you still scrapbook?

      1. I’m not a hoarder either but I just can’t let things go when I see a potential in them. But I at least make sure I find a place to store everything I hang on to. And I haven’t scrapbooked in a while but I’ve been saving ideas that I have and have accumulated many random things I could use later. I am actually wanting to make a recipe book somehow. I’ve learned that I love making things but I don’t have the patience or attention span to dedicate to a project all at once so I have to take breaks. I have some half started projects and ideas that will be finished just not yet.

      1. Well, I can’t right now because I went on a mad rearranging spree not long ago in my craft room and everything is neat and in it’s place. You should see when I start sewing… my dining room becomes a tangle of cotton, offcuts and fabrics draped over every chair, every flat surface. (My family hates when I sew, lol!)

Leave a Reply

