Personal · Uncategorized

Magical Cape Town

Everyone knows the saying, “There’s no place like home”, but really, there’s no place like Cape Town. I’m just fortunate enough to be able to call it home too.

12699091_10154524550145260_1060834034_o
On Table Mountain, watching the sunset.

The past month in Cape Town was magical. The scents, sounds and sights, the vibrancy of the city and its people, the picturesque mountains and sandy beaches; I forgot how truly beautiful Cape Town is. I left four years ago and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous about going back.

How would I feel after all these years? Out of place? Counting down the days until I’m back in Jordan? Or would I fall in love with the place all over again, a place that was once home?

By the amount of pictures on my personal Instagram and Facebook accounts the answer is obvious: I loved it. I loved every minute that I was there.

12695827_10154524561190260_1410625127_n
Renewal/Anniversary in Cape Town.

 

I realized how lonely a place can be without family. [And how quiet.] No loud sibling squabbles, no family game nights with aunts and uncles [and my grandma.]

My stay was so short-lived, a month felt like a week and it’s all a blur of laughter, good food, good company and fun.

Leaving was bittersweet, as goodbyes usually are. But I’ll definitely be back without waiting another four years.

I’m keeping this post brief before the sentimental, sensitive, mushy-gushy side of me takes over, which is a side I keep hidden most of the time.

So let me leave you with this panoramic photo of the city bowl while I reminisce some more…

xxx

12669123_10154524556655260_1655369553_o
Just before going up Table Mountain.

 

3 thoughts on “Magical Cape Town

  1. Awh, I know exactly how you feel. When I moved to Cape Town from Durban, I didn’t know what I was in for. I have no family or friends in CT, and coupled with a culture shock, it felt like I moved to another country! It does get lonely and perhaps way too quiet sometimes when you’re so far away from family… thankfully they’re only a phone call or skype chat away 🙂
    Cape Town had some amazing weather in past month; so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay 🙂

    1. Aw man, did you have to move for work?
      Luckily Durban isn’t that far from Cape Town 🙂 I didn’t know there would be a huge culture shock though, but then again I’ve never been to Durban so I don’t know what it’s like over there.

      And yay for modern technology, I don’t think I’d have the patience for a carrier pigeon, sending and receiving letters 🙂

      1. I moved because I married someone who is from Cape Town. I didn’t mind and was actually pretty excited to move! I love it here. And yep, the culture and community is very different yet so warm and friendly.
        Tell me about it! WhatsApp family groups rock (except for all the forwarded chain messages lol)

Leave a Reply

